NSFR- Not Safe For Reading?

During our Tapatan (an open forum held every academic year with where students and school administrators, school deans, and department heads are gathered to share  and exchange thoughts about school improvement and like issues), a student was asking when he could borrow a book(the title I forgot) that talks about religion and life since it was signed out by another user for a long time which happens to be a nun administrator. According to him, he is in need of this book because he needs guidance or some sort of enlightenment from the pressures of life, the sincere desperation obvious in his voice.

The head librarian responded with an apologetic tone saying that book is solely allowed only for professors and nuns (because our school is being run by Benedictine sisters) and I can see disappointment from the student’s face. I felt bad for him and at the same time I can’t keep wondering what does that book entails that it is strictly restricted from students? To think of, we are paying a quite sumptuous amount for the library fee, how fair is that?  I can’t stop thinking that if they have no any intention to lend it to students, well at least they should have not included it in the book database in the first place, that way students won’t know that it exists in the collection. If they have done that in the beginning well at least they could have save that student from being disappointed and avoid further incidents like that. As a person who loves to read I can’t stop not to put myself in his shoes, it doesn’t feel good when you are being deprived from the things you want to learn. I mean what’s wrong with the desire to know more about life and religion? I thought library is a paradise within the huge walls with spines of books waiting to be awaken, I though it was a place for free knowledge, maybe I was wrong?

Or maybe I’m going to touchy and making things big but still what is wrong with that book? Is it too scientific or is anti-religion that they are afraid it might change the way we think? Does it requires high thinking capacity that is why only the people from the higher structure are allowed to get a hold of it. I felt a little bit insulted for thinking that although it was not explicitly stated by the head librarian. Well, I hope it doesn’t happen to me and for that student I wish he could find that book soon.

PS. Not blaming any of the library staff but still in wonder what is there basis for considering a book to be something NSFR.

 

Leave a Reply

